Contact Details

Council 2017-2018

Role of a Councillor
The council is responsible for:

  • Determining questions and matters of policy for the Association;
  • Making By-laws about ethical considerations (including handling complaints related to the profession);
  • Making recommendations to the board of directors about representing the Association on all matter of policy with government or other stakeholders.

Additionally councillors have an internal role to assist the Member Relations Department, along with other Departments within the Secretariat, with recruitment and retention exercises including contacting new members to welcome them as new AMA Queensland members; drafting Council reports for members in your geographical or craft group – with a focus on specific geographical/craft group issues; participation on relevant Council Committees and providing timely feedback on policy and political statements as distributed.

For an overview of each Council member, please click here.

If you wish to contact any of AMA Queensland's Council members, please email Amanda Sanderson



Dr Dilip Dhupelia President
Dr Michael Cleary Vice President
Dr Shaun Rudd Chair
Dr Bill Boyd Immediate Past President
Dr Fatima Ashrafi Specialist Craft Group Representative
Dr John Murray Specialist Craft Group Representative
Dr Sarah Coll Specialist Craft Group Representative
Dr Scott Horsburgh General Practitioner Craft Group Representative
Dr Paul Bryan General Practitioner Craft Group Representative
Dr Nicholas Yim General Practitioner Craft Group Representative
Dr David Shepherd Far North Area Representative
Dr John Hall Downs and West Area Representative
Dr Bav Manoharan Greater Brisbane Area Representative
Dr John de Laat Greater Brisbane Area Representative
Dr Rachael O'Rourke Greater Brisbane Area Representative
Professor Steve Kisely Greater Brisbane Area Representative
Dr Kimberley Bondeson Greater Brisbane Area Representative
Dr Michael Clements North Area Representative
Dr Wayne Herdy North Coast Area Representative
Dr Chris Maguire Doctors In Training Representative
Dr Siva Senthuran Full-Time Salaried Medical Practitioner Craft Group Representative
Dr Viney Joshi International Medical Graduate Representative
Dr Geoffrey Hawson Retired Doctors Representative
Haydn Dodds Medical Student Group
Clare Mahon Medical Student Observer